Dispatches from Babyville

Holy crap, we have a baby!

Sleep Breakthrough April 26, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — My Athletic Life @ 8:38 pm

I have lots of other things that I’ve been meaning to post, including birthday pictures, but for now I’ll just share this adorable picture:

sleeping!

I’m sure many of you are aware that River has not been the greatest sleeper in the world. There were months at a time when she would wake 5-10 times every night, and we were all exhausted. She never slept in her crib, and for a long time she wouldn’t even sleep in a room by herself. We have had some improvement over the last several months, but she still fought sleep and woke frequently. About a week ago, whatever developmental switch controls sleep suddenly and mysteriously got flipped. Since then, she has been taking two-hour naps by herself in her own bed without waking up (which she never did before) and sleeping 8-9 hour stretches most nights (which she also never did before).

I’m sure we’ll have occasional bad nights and setbacks, but I think we’ve finally turned a corner. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with all this extra energy and time, but I can’t tell you how happy I am to have it!

 

2 Responses to “Sleep Breakthrough”

  1. Shine Says:

    Way to Go River!!!!

  2. Melinda Says:

    Way to go, Momma! You have worked very hard to show her that she is safe and secure and will be well-fed and well-loved no matter what time of night. I’m so glad to hear that she is sleeping better. You and Darren must be so relieved to get some rest.


Leave a Reply

