Dispatches from Babyville

Holy crap, we have a baby!

Life with a baby May 28, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — My Athletic Life @ 5:46 pm

This afternoon, I took River into her room to change her diaper. She proceeded to make an amazing mess, so much so that I kept telling her how impressed I was with her achievement. Here is what happened:

1. Her diaper had leaked a bit, so all her clothing had gotten wet and needed to be changed. I stripped her down to just her diaper.

2. When I opened the diaper to take it off, I saw that it was impressively full. Not only that, but it actually smelled. (Exclusively breastfed babies usually don’t have very smelly diapers.)

3. When I was wiping her off prior to putting the new diaper on, she erupted with a fountain of pee, soaking the wipe I was cleaning her off with, my hand, the old diaper (still underneath her at that point to avoid spreading poo around) as well as a cloth diaper that was under that to keep the mess off the changing pad.

4. Then I noticed she was spitting up all over herself, getting it on her neck and shoulders and soaking the cloth diaper that was under her head.

5. Then I just started laughing really hard and congratulating her on her mess.

6. Then I had to clean it all up.

Life with a baby is full of all kinds of excitement. 🙂

 

One Response to “Life with a baby”

  1. Mimi Says:

    …the wonderful world of babies…


Leave a Reply

