Dispatches from Babyville

Holy crap, we have a baby!

Argh March 17, 2009

Filed under: prenatal appointments — My Athletic Life @ 8:02 pm

Today at my appointment I learned that since last week, River has flipped and is now breech. At 36 weeks, that is not a good thing! No one here in town will do a breech vaginal birth, so if we can’t get her to flip back around, that means a C-section. Call me crazy, but I’d rather not have to have major abdominal surgery, especially right before going home with a newborn.

There are a bunch of things we can and will do to encourage her to move back into a good position. One of them involves me having to lie on an ironing board propped against the couch so that my hips are higher than my head, which should be kind of an awkward maneuver in my present ungainly state. There’s also a chiropractor here in town who apparently has a pretty good success rate at getting breech babies to turn. Some people say that acupuncture can be effective, so we might give that a try. And if in a few weeks she still hasn’t turned, we can try having an OB do an external version (basically pushing and pulling on the baby from the outside to try to turn her). The disadvantage of that is that it sometimes causes babies to go into distress, which would mean an immediate emergency C-section.

So can everyone please think positive baby-turning thoughts for us? I know a C-section wouldn’t be the end of the world, but I will be so disappointed if I don’t get to have the natural childbirth I’ve always wanted. 😦

 

3 Responses to “Argh”

  1. Melinda Says:

    I feel for you. Having to go to the hospital when I’ve been planning all along for a birth center birth is my biggest fear! Swim downstream little River, d-o-w-n-stream.

  2. iclone Says:

    River! Butt goes up! Head goes down! You can do it!

  3. Jen Says:

    Gilli inverted to breech at 36 weeks and got herself turned around by 38 when she was born. I was told to put a warm compress on the bottom of my belly (pelvic area) and a cold compress on the top. Babies don’t like their heads to get cold. Did it a couple times, don’t know if that’s what helped or not though. Might be worth a try:-)


Leave a Reply

