Dispatches from Babyville

Holy crap, we have a baby!

New pictures of the baby! February 1, 2009

Filed under: baby pictures,nursery — My Athletic Life @ 6:34 pm

At my appointment on Thursday, I had another ultrasound and got some really nice pictures of the baby. There’s also a video of the entire 20-minute ultrasound session, but apparently it’s impossible for me to post clips from it so everyone can see. (This is what I get for not living near Dmitri or Nicole anymore–I have no doubt that one of them could manage it, but I’m sadly incapable.)

Anyway, I do have some photos to share! I got very clear visual confirmation that she is indeed a girl, but it seems kind of inappropriate to post crotch shots of my kid on the internet, so y’all will have to take it on faith. I am, however, happy to share pictures of her non-private parts. 🙂 The kiddo kept her arm up by her face the entire time, but at least in this picture you can see almost all of her face:

so cute!

We also got our first look at her “grumpy face,” which I’m sure we’ll be seeing a lot of in the years to come. It’s hard to tell exactly what she’s going to look like, but even the ultrasound tech said, “She sure doesn’t have your nose!” And yeah, I can’t deny that when she makes her grumpy face she looks just like her dad:

grumpy

But check it out, it looks like she got my feet, complete with weirdly long toes and a second toe that’s longer than the big toe:

foot

In other news, we’ve been working on decorating her room. I got some really cool pictures from the Etsy shop Elegant Snobbery to hang on the wall.There will be sock monkeys above the dresser to look at while we change diapers:

monkeys

There are three more sock monkey pictures that will be hung on the opposite wall, but I haven’t decided exactly where yet. They’re pretty cute, though. I especially love the one where the sock monkey knight made friends with the dragon:

more monkeys

Next up: I need to buy some sock monkey fabric to make curtains and rocking-chair cushions.

 

5 Responses to “New pictures of the baby!”

  1. Jen Says:

    VERY cool! Getting excited?

  2. Kristin Says:

    Totally! I’m so looking forward to meeting her. Plus, I’m looking forward to being able to put the baby down once in a while. Hauling around this belly is getting to be a lot of work!

  3. Melinda Says:

    The sock monkey art is very cute, as is your girl!

  4. Jamie Says:

    I LOVE sock monkeys!

  5. Libby Says:

    That’s a pretty cute baby you’ve got there. Hope the new bed and pillows are helping you to keep comfy and get lots of rest!


Leave a Reply

