Dispatches from Babyville

Holy crap, we have a baby!

Our baby is now the size of a standard letter December 17, 2008

Filed under: Pregnancy is weird — My Athletic Life @ 9:19 am

According to What to Expect When You’re Expecting, our baby now weighs about a pound and a half and is roughly the size of a standard letter (except thicker, I’m assuming). Holy cow! I can’t quite believe that a creature that size lives INSIDE ME. Except that now I can feel her moving around in there, so that’s interesting. When she gets really wiggly, I like to make up little guesses about what she might be doing: practicing her soccer moves? disco dancing? Pilates?

It’s also notable that as of next week, she would have a 50% chance of surviving outside of the womb. I keep telling her to stay put until she’s good and done, though. I really am happy to extend my hospitality to her until April. After that, though, she will need to move out of her current home. Her lease will be up.

I’ll post a new belly picture soon. I took one a few days ago, but it’s already out of date, since I am continuing to expand at an alarming pace. Can I really keep getting bigger for another four months? Apparently I can, but the idea is a little scary.

 

2 Responses to “Our baby is now the size of a standard letter”

  1. Jamie Says:

    Maybe she’s a little like Flat Stanley?

  2. Jen Says:

    Remind me to show you my belly pics when you’re here. You can be thankful that you will not end up being nearly as big as I got with your nephew and niece:-)


Leave a Reply

