Dispatches from Babyville

Holy crap, we have a baby!

It’s a girl! November 17, 2008

Filed under: baby pictures,prenatal appointments — My Athletic Life @ 9:16 pm

Yes folks, today we learned that we’re having a baby girl. The ultrasound tech swears this is the picture where you can tell:

P1010031

And she has a tiny foot! Two of them, in fact, although you can only see one here:

P1010035

Here’s a profile shot, with her skinny little knee up by her nose:

P1010029

And check out her sweet little face:

P1010028

Sorry for the slightly-out-of-focus pictures of pictures, but it’s the best our camera could do and we couldn’t wait to post these. 🙂

They measured her arms and legs, checked out the parts of her brain, made sure her heart looked right, and checked a bunch of other stuff that I can’t remember right now. Everything was completely normal, and our little girl looks very healthy.

 

8 Responses to “It’s a girl!”

  1. Nicole Says:

    Yay!!!! A girl!!!

    And wow! The technology is amazing! I think she’s really cute, and I’ve never said that about a fetus in utero before!

    Congratulations to you both and good job on the gestation, Kristin!

  2. Jamie Says:

    Darren & Kristin, we are so excited!!! “Darre” I say it? She looks like Darren!!

  3. Heather Says:

    Hey, the tie-dyed onesies are amazing. I’m still scratching my head about how well-trained or imaginative one has to be to determine gender from the ultrasound. Maybe it’s easier to see the details when it’s in process instead of on the still photos. Now that you know it’s a girl, it’s time to break out the horrible girl names suggestions.
    How about Candy, Brandy or Mandy? Condoleezza? Or maybe some virtue like Prudence or Continence (that’s old school for self-discipline, not being able to hold it w/o wetting one’s pants — although in the case of a baby, that double meaning is double funny)? Name her after your favorite Disney princess! Your favorite character in a sci-fi or fantasy novel!
    The list could go on till you puke or start blocking my comments!

  4. Josh Says:

    I’m half terrified and half amazed by these pictures. It’s awesome that she doesn’t have 3 legs and 4 arms, so congratulations on that.

  5. Kristin Says:

    Heather, I already issued a blanket veto on any names that are nouns referring to abstract concepts, so Continence (although hilarious) is not going on the list. Fawn actually suggested Vanity the other day, which is also not going on the list. 🙂

    And yeah, I have to admit, it looks like she might have gotten Darren’s jawline. Time will tell.

    Josh, if the pictures terrify you, imagine feeling this critter rolling around INSIDE YOU. Yeah. Weird, and awesome at the same time.

  6. Libby Says:

    A niece! I’m so excited!! Congratulations!!! Please tell her Aunt Libby can’t wait to meet her and that I love her already.

  7. Mom Says:

    I agree with Jamie. She does look like Darren. Every time I look at her face I can’t hold back a smile, and my heart really does go pitter pat. Love her enormously already, just like Libby. Can’t wait to see you all.

  8. Holly Says:

    I thought it looked like Darren’s jawline too, it’s crazy you can already see resemblances.

    Also, I absolutely adore the onesies! I’m so excited for you guys 🙂


Leave a Reply

