Dispatches from Babyville

Holy crap, we have a baby!

Our first baby gift, plus yay for the second trimester! September 30, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — My Athletic Life @ 5:02 pm

Two awesome things happened this past weekend. First, on Saturday we got our first baby gift. It was from a woman I know from my knitting group, who was accidentally like the fourth or fifth person to know I was pregnant, because she works at the library and saw me checking out a book about pregnancy. I refused to confirm or deny at that point, and she commented that she was looking forward to congratulating me at some point in the future. Her husband got a job in Texas, so they left town this past weekend, but she gave us a present before leaving. How incredibly kind and sweet is that? It’s a scrapbooking kit so we can document the beginning of our baby’s life, along with a decorated container for making a family time capsule. Darren and I are thinking of making the time capsule and then saving it to give to our child when he/she graduates from high school. We definitely don’t need or expect people to give us stuff, but I so much appreciate that Heather thought of us in the middle of getting ready to move to a different state. People can be so kind.

In other news, this past Sunday marked the beginning of the second trimester, which is exciting. Our risk of losing the baby has dramatically gone down, so it’s nice to be able to relax a bit more. I’m also hoping that I’ll continue to feel better and enjoy my food more. My mom promises I will feel great for the next few months, so I’m going to enjoy this time before I start getting all gigantic and cumbersome. 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Our first baby gift, plus yay for the second trimester!”

  1. Libby Says:

    Hurray for second trimester! I hope you’re feeling better and that baby’s letting you eat some candy corn. It’s not fall without candy corn!

    Love to all! XOXO

  2. Nicole Says:

    That is so nice of Heather! What are you going to put in the time capsule?


Leave a Reply

